My Experience at the WSSC

Last week was  nuts to say the least! Tuesday I spent from 10am-6am studying for my Chemistry exam.  Took a 30 minute cat nap and left to Day of 1 of my Kettlebell Concepts Level 1 Certification workshop.  Amidst Day 1, I left back to school to take the Exam and then rushed right back to finish Day 1 of the course.  For those of you who are new to my blog, I am very much into Crossfit.  In crossfit, we are constantly using the Kettlebell in our WODs.  So for me, the biggest take home from this course was not a movement, but being able to perform every movement and be consciously aware of how the way it was carried out is affecting my form and efficiency.  I am happy to announce that I did pass the practical and am one online exam away from officially being Kettlebell Level 1 Certified.

So that was part of the pre-conference to the WSSC (World Spinning and Sports Conference).  Moving onto Friday battered and bruised from all of my Kettlebell mistakes I took 4 workshops/lectures.  My day started with a 9am introduction to ViPR.  The only way to describe the ViPR is its close resemblance to the strong man log, only not as heavy and not meant for single direction lifts.  It is incredibly dynamic, which makes it great for all ages.  Definitely plan on investing in my own ViPR to add to my current regime.  Then at 11am I attended a Lecture on the Paleolithic/load carb dieting.  Though I am not a fan of the low carb lifestyle simply because of how important the right kind of carbs are for our bodily functions (Refer to macro post).  I did however, learn the reasoning behind it and got more educated on why it is beneficial to people who are obese.  At 2pm I took a workshop entitles Shock Wave.  Basically one full our of interval sprints on the spin bike.  Mind you haven’t done a spin class in YEARS so imagine how I felt after one hour of interval spinning.  It was death and I’m still feeling it.  To end the first day of the conference I attended a 4pm on the Adrenal Fatigue myth.  In summary, the lecturer basically said that people think its from exercise, but in reality more than it is from over training it is from lack of sleep and overall exhaustion.

Saturday morning I missed my 9am workshop due to a fluke bug that hit me like a truck friday night, so I slept in.  I ended up starting the day at the 11am with a workshop entitled “Advanced kettlebell lifting for Metabolic and Neurological Adaptations.”  After that workshop, I am even more excited to pursue my level 2 cert as well as incorporate the circuits we learned as a part of my warm ups. 2pm was the booty belly bootcamp.  When I arrived to the room and saw a plastic board with resistance bands tied around I was intrigued to say the least.  Fast forward through the whole workout and I was DRENCHED! I thought some of my WODs were tough, but I got my booty handed to me by the “Club e-fit.” 4pm was a lecture on busting through training plateaus where we went more in depth into periodization programming.

Sunday was the final day of the conference and my day started with a 9am mobility is freedom workshop.  I left feeling like a brand new person.  4 days of beating my muscles up, I can’t think of a better way to have ended the conference.

Overall, I loved everything I did and learned at the WSSC and will definitely be back next year!  On thursday, my posts will be back to normal and I will be blogging about Dark Chocolate as requested by a client/friend of mine.

Happy Tuesday!

One thought on “My Experience at the WSSC

Leave a Reply

